NOYO donate

partner of Oberlin Center for the Arts

NOYO Performs Spring Program

Posted March 06, 2017 in Press Releases

Elyria—March 26, 2017—The Northern Ohio Youth Orchestra (NOYO) is delighted to announce that their upcoming concert, titled Landscapes, will include the new Wind Symphony ensemble for the first time. This is the Wind Symphony’s inaugural year, and the upcoming performance, scheduled March 26, 2017 in Finney Chapel, Oberlin, marks the first time in six years that NOYO will combine strings and winds at the middle school level.

The program also includes a new work commissioned especially for NOYO students written by Colorado-based composer Susan Day. Andrew Machamer, executive and artistic director of NOYO, will conduct the Wind Symphony. “I’m very proud of our young musicians,” Machamer said. “They come to rehearsals hungry to learn and with the best possible attitudes—the Wind Symphony has been a fantastic success and a testament NOYO’s growth and influence in recent years.”

Also performing this concert are the Amati Strings—another ensemble new to this year—directed by Mary Price; the Sinfonietta Strings directed by Peggie Willett; the Percussion Ensemble directed by Louis Pino; and the Philharmonia Orchestra directed by David Pope—orchestra director at Elyria High School and the interim Philharmonia conductor for this concert cycle.

Said Machamer, “It has been such a treat for our students to have the opportunity to work with Dr. Pope. His breadth of knowledge and understanding of music education pedagogy has benefited our musicians greatly.”

Each ensemble will perform music evocative of landscapes, such as Sibelius’s Finlandia, Meredith’s The Red Cape, and the world-premiere of Susan Day’s NOYO commissioned work The Great Lakes. The Wind Symphony will also perform Feuerfest by Joseph Strauss in collaboration with the Sinfonietta Strings.

Landscapes begins at 3:30 p.m. March 26, 2017. Tickets are available at or at the door. General admission door prices are $10, $7 for seniors, and $5 for students. Children 3-years-old and under are free of charge. For more information, please visit or call 440-775-3059.

About NOYO
The Northern Ohio Youth Orchestra (NOYO) is a regional orchestral training program for young musicians ages 8-18 based at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. NOYO’s ensembles include the Amati Strings, Wind Symphony, Sinfonietta Strings, Rhythm & Brass, and Philharmonia Orchestra, all which perform several major concerts in world-class concert halls each season.

NOYO provides unique opportunities that go beyond performing the standard orchestral literature. Our students routinely premiere newly commissioned works, appear side by side with collegiate orchestras, and participate in large scale, multi-media collaborations with organizations such as the Ohio Dance Theatre, MAD Factory, Choral Spectrum, and Oberlin Choristers. In addition to producing innovative programs, NOYO’s musicians tour nationally and internationally to exchange musical and cultural ideas, form lifelong friendships, and expand their understanding of the broader world.

Download pdf

sign up

Stay connected and join our mailing list!


Photo Gallery

1 of 22